ATS Honors 2016 Respiratory Health Award Recipients

Every year at the International Conference, the ATS recognizes individuals whose contributions have helped to improve health worldwide by advancing research, clinical care, and public health in respiratory disease, critical illness, and sleep disorders. This year, the Awards Committee has selected a diverse group of outstanding researchers and clinicians to receive 2016 Respiratory Health Awards. The following individuals will be honored at an awards ceremony from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. Sunday at the Moscone Center, Gateway Ballroom 102-104 (South Building, Lower Level).

Marlene Rabinovitch, MD

Amberson Lecturer
Marlene Rabinovitch, MD, the Dwight and Vera Dunlevie Professor of Pediatric Cardiology at Stanford University School of Medicine, California, will deliver the Amberson Lecture, named in honor of Dr. James Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis. The lecture recognizes a career of major lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research and/or clinical practice.

Joe G.N. “Skip” Garcia, MD

Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal
Joe G.N. “Skip” Garcia, MD, senior vice president for health sciences and the Dr. Merlin K. DuVal Professor of Medicine at the University of Arizona, Tucson, will be awarded the Trudeau Medal. One of the Society’s highest recognitions, the Trudeau Medal recognizes lifelong major contributions to the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education or clinical care.

Claire M. Doerschuk, MD

Distinguished Achievement Awards
Claire M. Doerschuk, MD, of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and J. Usha Raj, MD, of the University of Illinois, Chicago, will receive Distinguished Achievement Awards, which recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to fighting respiratory disease through research, education, patient care, or advocacy.

J. Usha Raj, MD

Dr. Doerschuk is professor and director of the Center for Airways Disease at the University of North Carolina, and Dr. Raj is a professor of pediatrics at the University of Illinois, Chicago.

Charles L. Daley, MD

World Lung Health Award
Charles L. Daley, MD, professor of medicine at National Jewish Health (NJH) and the University of Colorado, Denver, will receive the World Lung Health Award, which recognizes contributions to improving world lung health in the area of translational or implementation research, delivery of health care, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease, or related political advocacy with a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide. He also is chief of the Division of Mycobacterial and Respiratory Infections and director of the Nontuberculous Mycobacteria Center of Excellence at NJH.

Robert Kotloff, MD

Outstanding Educator Award
Robert Kotloff, MD, chairman of the department of pulmonary medicine at the at the Cleveland Clinic, Ohio, will receive the Outstanding Educator Award, which recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care, or sleep medicine. This award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease. This award will be given at the Plenary Session at 11:45 a.m. Tuesday.

John R. Balmes, MD

Public Service Award
John R. Balmes, MD, professor of medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, and professor of environmental health sciences in the School of Public Health at the University of California, Berkeley, will receive the Public Service Award, which honors contributions to public health related to improvement of indoor and outdoor air quality, eradication of tobacco usage, prevention of lung disease, improved management of communicable respiratory diseases, or improvement in the ethical delivery, and access to health care in areas related to lung diseases, sleep disorders, or critical care.

Jay M. Shames, MD

Outstanding Clinician
Jay M. Shames, MD, of New Orleans, Louisiana, will receive this year’s Outstanding Clinician Award, which recognizes a pulmonary, critical care, or sleep clinician who spends at least 75 percent of his or her time providing direct patient care and is recognized by patients and families as a caring and dedicated health care provider and by his or her peers as having made substantial contributions to the clinical care of patients with respiratory disease. Since 1967, Dr. Shames has served as president of Internal Medicine Specialists Inc., a multi-subspecialty practice in New Orleans serving patients at more than a dozen sites.

Megan N. Ballinger, PhD

Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Service
Megan N. Ballinger, PhD, research assistant professor in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep in the department of medicine at The Ohio State University, Columbus, will receive the Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science. The late Dr. Wright was the first PhD scientist to head the ATS, an outstanding researcher, and an extraordinary educator. The award is given in her memory and recognizes a rising generation of individuals who have the potential to be scientific leaders. 

Return to index page.