2015 ATS Assembly Awards


Name of Award

2015 Awardees

Allergy, Immunology, and

Early Career Achievement Awards

Amit Gaggar, MD, PhD

Scientific Accomplishment Award

John V. Fahy, MD

Behavioral Science and Health Services Research

Lifetime Achievement Award

Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD

Early Career Achievement  Award

Andrea S. Gershon, MD, MSc

Critical Care

Lifetime Achievement Award

Roy G. Brower, MD

Early Career Achievement Award

Colin R. Cooke, MD

Clinical Problems

Educator Award

Michael A. Hutcheon, FRCP(C), MD

Early Career Achievement Award

Joshua M. Diamond, MD

Sreedhar Nair Early Stage
Investigator Award in COPD Supported by the National
Emphysema Foundation

James M. Wells, MD

Sreedhar Nair Lifetime Achievement Award in COPD
Supported by the National
Emphysema Foundation

Bartolome R. Celli, MD

Occupational and
Population Health

John Peters Award

Maritta S. Jaakkola, MD

David Bates Award

Xingnan Li, PhD

Val Vallyathan Award
Supported by the National
Emphysema Foundation
Honoring Velayudhan
“Val” Vallyathan, MD.

Junior – Robert M. Tighe, MD

Senior – William N. Rom, MD, MPH

Microbiology, Tuberculosis, and Pulmonary Infections

Early Career Achievement Award

Sushma K. Cribbs, MD, MSCR

Mid Career Award

Alison M. Morris, MD, MS

Senior Level Award

Andrew H. Limper, MD


Marilyn Hansen Award

Linda L. Chlan, PhD, RN

Early Career Achievement Award

Jiyeon Choi, PhD, RN

Pulmonary Circulation

Robert Grover Prize

Kurt R. Stenmark, MD

Leadership Award

Joe G.N. Garcia, MD

Jane Morse Award

Neil McGinchey, MBBS

Early Career Achievement Award

Eric P. Schmidt, MD


Pediatric Founders Award

William W. Waring, MD

Pediatric Clinical Educator Award

Debra M. Boyer, MD

Robert Mellins Award

Eric D. Austin, MD

Scientific Abstract Awards

Laura Walkup, PhD
& Binoy Shivanna, MD, DM

Pulmonary Rehabilitation

Recognition Awards

Richard Cassaburi, MD, PhD Nicolino Ambrosino, MD,  Jose R. Jardim, MD, PhD

Early Career Achievement Award

Xavier Soler, PhD, MD

Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology

Carol Basbaum Award

Kevin K. Kim, MD

Jo Rae Wright Award

Karen F. Bernard, PhD

Sleep and Respiratory

Sleep Fragments Award

Sandeep Khosa, MD

James B. Skatrud New
Investigator Award

Ching Li Chai-Coetzer, MBBS, FRACP, PhD

Respiratory Structure and

Ann Woolcock Memorial Award
The Ann Woolcock Memorial
Award has been supported
by GlaxoSmithKline and the
Thoracic Society of Australia
and New Zealand.

Jeremy Alexander Hirota, BSc, PhD

Joseph R. Rodarte Award
The Joseph R. Rodarte
Award has been supported
by MGC Diagnostics.

Herman Meurs, PhD

Stuart J. Hirst Award

Richa Gupta, PhD

Thoracic Oncology

Early Career Achievement Award

Nichole T. Tanner, MD

Lifetime Achievement Award

James R. Jett, MD