Four to Receive Awards for Scientific Accomplishments

Celebrate the achievements of four expert researchers during the Recognition Awards for Scientific Accomplishments from 2:15 to 4:15 p.m. today in Room 107/109/111/113 (Street Level) in the Colorado Convention Center.

These awards are given to individuals for outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to the understanding, prevention, and treatment of lung disease.

J.W. Christman, MD, Columbus, OH, and P.W. Finn, MD, Chicago, IL, are chairs of the session. Awardees will make 25-minute presentations about their research.

Annie Pardo

Reynold A. Panettieri Jr.

2:15: Reynold A. Panettieri Jr., MD, the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, presents “Airway Smooth Muscle: A Novel Therapeutic Target in Severe Asthma.”

2:45: Annie Pardo, PhD, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico City, presents “Untangling the Knot in IPF: Developing Irreversible Scars Despite Increased MMPs.”

William C. Parks

Lorraine B. Ware

3:15: William C. Parks, PhD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, presents “MMPs in Lung Repair and Fibrosis.”

3:45: Lorraine B. Ware, MD, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, presents “Seeing Red: Free Hemoglobin and the Pathogenesis of Sepsis and ARDS.”