Annual Forums to Focus on Diversity and Inclusivity

Sonia C. Flores, PhD

Two popular forums at ATS 2016 give attendees the opportunity to celebrate diversity and women in the fields of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. A plated lunch will be served at both forums.

The annual Diversity Forum, from 11:45 a.m. to 1:15 p.m. Sunday, will feature Sonia C. Flores, PhD, professor of medicine, Division of Pulmonary Sciences, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, who will address career and diversity issues, and answer questions from the audience. Minority Trainee Development Scholarships (MTDS) also will be presented. MTDS recipients are selected for the quality of science in their submitted abstracts.

Catherine R. Lucey, MD

The annual Women’s Forum, from 11:45 a.m. to 1:15 p.m. Monday, will bring guest speaker Catherine R. Lucey, MD, the Faustino and Martha Molina Bernadett Presidential Chair for Medical Education, professor of medicine, and vice dean for education at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine.

Irina Petrache, MD

The 2016 Elizabeth A. Rich, MD, Award will be presented to Irina Petrache, MD,
professor of medicine and chief of pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine at National Jewish Health, Denver, Colorado.

Men are welcome to attend. Lunch will be served during both forums, which are sponsored by the ATS and hosted by Yolanda Mageto, MD, MPH, ATS Membership Committee chair. Both forums will be at the Marriott Marquis, Yerba Buena Ballroom 7.

Only conference badges are required for admission. Seating is available on a first-come, first-serve basis. If you did not register in advance, you may be able to get a seat by arriving early.

Return to index page.